410-9th Street
(Second Floor, City Hall)
Brandon, MB R7A 6A2



Board of Directors

Board Members

Jay Buizer, Chair

Ron Shaluk, Vice-Chair
Business Account Manager, RBC

Drew Caldwell, Secretary-Treasurer
Private Citizen

Ryan Shields, Director
Sales Representative, Royal LePage Martin-Liberty Realty

Cam Wirch, Director
Owner, A & L Cycle

Pamela Smith, Director
President, Trend Collection and Bailliff Services Ltd.

Kris Desjarlais, Director
Rosser Ward Councillor

Jeff Fawcett, Ex-Officio Member
Mayor, City of Brandon

Ron Bowles, Ex-Officio Member
City Manager, City of Brandon

In accordance with the Brandon Downtown Development Corporation’s Organizational By-law, the Board shall consist of one (1) Member of Council for the City of Brandon who shall be appointed annually, and six (8) citizens-at-large for a total of seven (9) voting Directors. The Mayor, and City Manager of the City of Brandon shall be considered an ex-officio, non-voting members of the Board. Directors are appointed by City Council and shall serve a term of three (3) years. No Director, save and except the member of Council of the City of Brandon, shall serve more than two (2) consecutive full terms as a Director. The Board meets on the third Monday of each month at 11:45 a.m.

Board Responsibilities

  • governing the organization by establishing broad policies and objectives;
  • selecting, appointing, and supporting the Executive Director;
  • making decisions on program administration and funding applications;
  • ensuring the availability of adequate financial resources;
  • approving annual budgets;
  • accounting to the stakeholders for the organization’s performance;
  • utilizing personal and professional skills, relationships, and knowledge for the advancement of the Brandon Downtown Development Corporation and revitalization of downtown Brandon.

Interested in becoming a Director of the Brandon
Downtown Development Corporation?

Apply Now